Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Put here if you faced a crash.
Give as detailed info about it as possible
- how can you reproduce it,
- what is the error message
- which map
...

Moderator: Endru1241

Post Reply
goose88
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:13 am

Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by goose88 » Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:58 pm

I have had this problem for a while now, and assumed it was known but it has gotten worse. I'm using a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge -

Basically, I'll make my normal turn in a multiplayer game. It'll send it to the server, then the next player will go, or sometimes an entire round of players. The next day I'll get a new turn notification with a full new 24 hr turn timer, and load up the game only to find that I have to re-do the exact same turn I did the day before! It didn't really bother me before because it gave me a chance to do things better the second time if I made an error. But lately in two different games I've had to make the same turn again but noticed that another player's units have advanced or are in a different spot than when I made the turn the first time. So essentially it never ran my turn, but my badge doesn't show any new skips either.

This recently happened in "Tournament Round 1" game and "The Thistle cup". I would say it's happened at least once in about half of the games I've played in over the past few months. I don't recall if it happened previously with my S5 phone before April.

Please help!

User avatar
Disco
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:37 pm
Location: UK

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Disco » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:07 am

Never had this, but if I did, id be like..crazy mad (and searching for next-doors cat to boot :twisted: )

User avatar
Hardeep
Posts: 1121
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Location: Isengard, middle earth

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Hardeep » Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:11 pm

Ah, I see.......
Take solace in the fact that it was not your fault that this happened.
I will allow DOOMDABAD to explain.
There never was much hope... just a fool's hope

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Wed Aug 31, 2016 5:14 am

goose88 wrote:I have had this problem for a while now, and assumed it was known but it has gotten worse. I'm using a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge -

Basically, I'll make my normal turn in a multiplayer game. It'll send it to the server, then the next player will go, or sometimes an entire round of players. The next day I'll get a new turn notification with a full new 24 hr turn timer, and load up the game only to find that I have to re-do the exact same turn I did the day before! It didn't really bother me before because it gave me a chance to do things better the second time if I made an error. But lately in two different games I've had to make the same turn again but noticed that another player's units have advanced or are in a different spot than when I made the turn the first time. So essentially it never ran my turn, but my badge doesn't show any new skips either.

This recently happened in "Tournament Round 1" game and "The Thistle cup". I would say it's happened at least once in about half of the games I've played in over the past few months. I don't recall if it happened previously with my S5 phone before April.

Please help!
This happened to me too
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
Disco
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:37 pm
Location: UK

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Disco » Wed Aug 31, 2016 7:06 am

TheBluePhoenix wrote:This happened to me too
:evil:
This happened in one of my games lastnite! or I just simply forgot to hit "end turn" button..dunno :oops: Although it was only turn 2, so not so bad..

Here pus puss :x

User avatar
Avalyn
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:51 am
Location: Karblain, capital city of Paladia

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Avalyn » Wed Aug 31, 2016 2:31 pm

Hardeep wrote:Ah, I see.......
Take solace in the fact that it was not your fault that this happened.
I will allow DOOMDABAD to explain.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Istan quete ya merin, ar la hanyuvatyen.

User avatar
Disco
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:37 pm
Location: UK

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Disco » Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:49 am

It has occurred again in a few of the games recently. Even a couple of others have said about it over chat (well one was a foreign lang, but he/she didnt seem to happy :P)

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Stratego (dev) » Thu Sep 01, 2016 3:29 pm

please somebody summarize what is the event list on this matter? (what happens) thanks!

goose88
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by goose88 » Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:08 pm

Daniel,

1) Complete turn in multiplayer
2) Game says "sending to server", brings you back to main screen
3) Later or next day, turn notification with fresh 24 hr timer
4) Open up game and units are back at where they were at the beginning of last turn
5) Complete turn in same or different way (learn from mistakes)
6) Sends to server, game continues as normal

But a few times recently it seemed that my units were in the same spot as before previous turn, but another players' units were in a different spot that in the original turn. Like I said, this has happened to me in almost half the games I've played. Sometimes just once, sometimes multiple times. No new skips were added to my badge.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Stratego (dev) » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:50 pm

how much games does such thing from about 20 games?

goose88
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by goose88 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:23 pm

Sorry, I don't understand what you're asking.

superstrijder15
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:48 pm

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by superstrijder15 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:45 pm

goose88 wrote:Sorry, I don't understand what you're asking.
If you were to play 20 games/turns, how many do you estimate this happens in.

goose88
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by goose88 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 2:40 pm

Out of 100 turns, I would say 2-3 times.

It's happened in about half of my games, and of those that it happened, it's usually only once or twice per game. Sometimes early, sometimes late in the game.

User avatar
Detros
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Detros » Sat Dec 17, 2016 11:40 am

As far as I get it this was caused by that trick that allowed players to play their enemy turn, in which case they could immedaitely End turn and effectively play two rounds at once. This issue should be now fixed, though probably still only in DEV version yet.

Timeline

User avatar
Neaw
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:48 pm
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Multiplayer reverting to previous turn for re-do

Post by Neaw » Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:42 pm

Hi all...

Sorry to recover this old post, but this problem still happening.

I'm actually playing a game and we're caught by this bug.
For me (neaw) it says that is papabear turn(skeep)... For papabear it's says that is my turn (skeep)... For MickMackMike is also my turn(skeep)

How I see that we're in a bug I asked to papabear to skeep me at the game chat... But two times my chat message disappeared... So I've sent an third message and contacted mickmackmike by facebook and he could read my message and tried to skeep me.. But the game crashed when he try to play... For me it still papabear turn (skeep)

We're now trying to contact papabear and request him to try the same thing and report us..


I didn't remember if is exact that but I think that Ive played the same turn twice... As someones described in another posts here... I think this is the third time in six months that I'm having this issue.

In another time, when I was having the issue like mickmackmike now, I've uninstalled AOE and reinstalled again, downloaded the game mach and I could play and solve the crash... But all the another players didn't play their turns... All ones goes to skeep for a long time...

Wold be better to send the game to dev @Stratego (dev) ?

Post Reply

Return to “Crashes”