AI dont make Walls - Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Moderator: Endru1241

Post Reply
Longinus
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:11 am

AI dont make Walls - Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by Longinus » Thu May 01, 2014 10:46 am

Has anyone seen enemy workers build walls?

Even in Random Games, Hard mode AI is still easy to defeat, even in small spaces. :-)
SLIT!
Im'maKiRk

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Enemy Walls.

Post by Stratego (dev) » Thu May 01, 2014 5:50 pm

yes does not build walss, where shuld it build it?

my suggestions is to make the AI to build other factory structures like stable, will that be hard enough? (my problem is where ahould AI build them?)

Longinus
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:11 am

Re: Enemy Walls.

Post by Longinus » Thu May 01, 2014 10:43 pm

Yes stables.. for walls, it could be 5 tiles away from the town center or any paths. If its difficult, you could change archer towers to garrison being built around town centers t make things even more challenging and balanced. If its possible, can enemy ai build advancement centers and blacksmiths and use them? And castles too? :)
SLIT!
Im'maKiRk

kon
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 5:38 am

Re: Enemy Walls.

Post by kon » Fri May 02, 2014 5:17 am

Oh inappropriately what would the bot was building castles!!! 1020 HP normally, you can carry only with their castles,and then the battle will last. translate through Yandex translator. if there are error-sorry!

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Enemy Walls.

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri May 02, 2014 9:42 am

you could change archer towers to garrison being built around town centers
what do you mean by "to garrison"?

BUT: in v968 the AI will build stables/barracks and so on.
(not walls yet, that is not clear for me yet where should they be placed by workers)

Longinus
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 3:11 am

Re: Enemy Walls.

Post by Longinus » Fri May 02, 2014 10:31 am

Daniel (the dev) wrote:
you could change archer towers to garrison being built around town centers
what do you mean by "to garrison"?

BUT: in v968 the AI will build stables/barracks and so on.
(not walls yet, that is not clear for me yet where should they be placed by workers)
Fortress, I mean, if enemy AI is hard mode... and walls, hmm.. in reality, walls are built around bases so they are placed and in-lined randomly as long as AI buildings are within the walls...
SLIT!
Im'maKiRk

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:17 am

here the implementation was to build towers and factories randomly around the base.
but i will leave the topic open for the walls, if you have idea where the AI should build walls then hit me! :)

User avatar
balint
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:38 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by balint » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:31 am

maybe they build a fort around the TCs.
This is Hungary and winter is coming.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:15 pm

:)

should they?
(because i never build such thing around my TC-s :))

User avatar
ejm29
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by ejm29 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:01 pm

I dont know how the programming work's, but perhaps you could make the computer build walls as choke points. If their is...for instance, a water tile on one side, and a mountain tile on the other? :)

User avatar
patroid
Posts: 1178
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Germany, Berlin

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by patroid » Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:08 pm

Hi the problem by walls is that u cant pass them, the AI will block its own paths.

Patroid

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:38 pm

good idea, but not complete:
- where on the map should the AI look for choke points?
- only 10 tile far from their TC
- or 10% far of the map size XY direction,
- only at homeland
- or on enemy land too? (land = close X tile far from enemy TC-s)

so we dont need here programming, we only need the specification where walls should be built by AI - this is what i do not figured out yet.

draakjee
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:27 am

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by draakjee » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:56 pm

maybe something like this:
-TC in the middle
-first ring, AI will built stables/barracks (next to tc)
-second ring, (next to stables/barracks). Ai will built a wall

some other specifications:
-after 3 or 4 walls, 1 tower needs to be placed, so units can move from the tc through the tower. So the AI won't block itself.
-if 2 tc from AI are less than 8 tiles away from each other, than the walls from those two tc should merge. So you get 1 long wall around those 2 tc. Same for 3 or 4 tc.

i'm only not sure if it's good to let the Ai built walls, walls aren't that good. And you don't need to destroy them to win a game... So maybe you should also reduce the costs of the wall only for AI.

User avatar
balint
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:38 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by balint » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:47 pm

This is how I imagined the fort.

Red: Tc
Blue: Favtories around rhe TC
Green: Guard tower
Purple:Wall
Attachments
1420242318674.png
fort-idea
1420242318674.png (24.31 KiB) Viewed 4326 times
This is Hungary and winter is coming.

User avatar
balint
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:38 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by balint » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:51 pm

This is another one....

Sams colouring.

sorry, it is not a nice image...
Attachments
1420242600809.png
1420242600809.png (26.61 KiB) Viewed 4326 times
This is Hungary and winter is coming.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9675
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sat Jan 03, 2015 3:48 am

the images i coool! thanks! :)

- i am only not really sure that the ai workers should work on such big fortresses instead of eg. building more factories, or a catapult or a transport (this is what i do generally).

btw: does anyone build fortresses around their TC-s? :)
(the building of walls on narrow parts or the map (betw. two hills or something) closing out enemy are more practical - and i also do it in my games.)

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Enemy Walls - worker wont build walls

Post by COOLguy » Sat Jan 03, 2015 5:16 pm

I build BIG defenses... if I think the game calls for it. There needs to be a test for the AI to build such large works, such as counting spaces to the other tc's. It would be a waste of time for the AI to build a huge defense instead of taking more tc's in the nearby area. Humans know this, but AI has to be told. Maybe make a couple scenarios that AI chooses best from depending on the positions.

More of a problem is their lack of defense against artillery.
Thanks!
Josh

Post Reply

Return to “AI”