Map design - Modifying built in maps with ondevice mapeditor

Post Reply
Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 6710
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Map design - Modifying built in maps with ondevice mapeditor

Post by Stratego (dev) » Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:26 pm

Quick guide for those who have grant (ask if you need one) to the units and trigger editor:
- you see checkboxes under your campaign map (before launching it)
- "Modify Map" -> if checked you will run the map in edit mode (use the "Launch"/"restart map" button)
- "Reset game definition" -> if checked than the trigger modifications you did on your device is removed and the initial untis/trigger definitions, the ones are compiled with the .apk will be loaded (your local modifications will be deleted!) - (use the "Launch"/"restart map" button for it)

What you do:
1. launch your map in modify mode (with launch/restart)
2. edit your units and triggers
3. exit map
4. start your map in normal (not modify mode) to see how your units/triggers/the whole game work
5. (here you can do the points 1..4 any times until your units/triggers are final)
6. now go in in modify mode again, and hit the "send" button - it will send me the untis+trigger definition and if i compile that in then your map will run with those units+triggers for everyone after publishing.

Unit editor guide
The editor is in very early stage.
As you will see i tried to reuse the normal game dialogs and features to make the "editor".

here are some hint how to use
- if you are in the mapeditor mode you see the whole map revealed in the state the tmx was designed (with units too if the tmx designer placed units too)
- placing down units: click on "unit button" below the zoom buttons (on the left) - now you can put down the default unit if ayou tap anytime anywhere on the map.
- changing unit to be placed: click in "unit button" again and the "unit type selector" window (same as the production list ingame) will be popped up. select any other unit and now you can place those.
- change player: in the "unit type selector" window (by double clicking on "unit button" ) you see colors on the right, those are the players, by tapping on them changes the player the units will be put for.
- save always: use the "save button" regularily (you can reach it by pressin the phone menu button), because if there is any bug that causes lockup, your all modification can lost. If you save you can load back anytime the setup.
- sending to me: if you are ready you need to press the "send" button ("save" button before pressing send button!) that will send me the changes you made (units and triggers too) - so i can compile in the game and everyone will see the updates on the map.


currently this is all we have.

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:58 pm

Cool! I must try it! :)

(Does it support neutral player units now?)
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:59 am

It is really cool!

I did notice that there is no way to delete units that you accidentally put on there.
Thanks!
Josh

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 6710
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 03, 2015 5:10 am

delete: you click on the unit and press the X button (same as in the game the kill unit button)
neutral: yes.

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:17 pm

Ok, thanks! :)
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by ollie444 » Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:47 pm

Wait -
So you can now effectively create maps on the app?
Not terrain, just units.
:?:

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:11 pm

Yup yup boom! ;)

HUGE THUMBS UP TO DANIEL THE GREATEST DEV!!!
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by ollie444 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 6:47 am

Wow that's amazing. Well done Dan! You never cease to amaze!

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 6710
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:19 am

yep, everyone go create many many maps! :) :)
(as i did with the hungarian campaign :))

User avatar
patroid
Posts: 1112
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Germany, Berlin

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by patroid » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:49 am

Hi
1.It's amazing.
2.If you press save button while editing game and then leave
All unit changes are gone.
3. Please add a function that you can also modify random games,
And send them to the dev.

Patroid

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 6710
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:45 am

2.If you press save button while editing game and then leave
All unit changes are gone.
they must not - please tell me the sequence you do (indicating the checkbox statuses before launching) thanks.
Please add a function that you can also modify random games,
And send them to the dev.
I am not sure i understand the idea: what do you do after editing them?

User avatar
patroid
Posts: 1112
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Germany, Berlin

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by patroid » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:14 pm

I mean that i create a random game.
Name it like my campaign map shoupd
Be named and so on and then use the random
Game map-edited. To make my campaign, so i can make
A map only.on my device-without tiled.

And then i send it to you...

Also its fun if you can create a random map-maybe also
Online-then edit it. And play without TC (multipllayer campaign
Without saving the map in the app...)

Patroid

User avatar
DoomCarrot
Posts: 3089
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:04 pm
Location: Commanding General's quarters, a tall keep above the mighty city of Carrot's Point

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by DoomCarrot » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:19 pm

So, I would have to make a game in Tiled, implement it (how?) into the actual app somehow, and than edit it in the app with this... modification to the app? Or am I missing some steps :?
The day is coming when a single carrot, freshly observed, will set off a revolution.

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:46 pm

Yes, you pretty much have it.
Daniel will implement it into the game for you. He will also enable your multiplayer account to access the editor.
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
DoomCarrot
Posts: 3089
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:04 pm
Location: Commanding General's quarters, a tall keep above the mighty city of Carrot's Point

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by DoomCarrot » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:29 pm

Ah ! I think I understand, thanks! Now I just need access to the editor :)
The day is coming when a single carrot, freshly observed, will set off a revolution.

Dgkfadomo777
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:00 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Dgkfadomo777 » Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:23 am

It would be cool if we cold use map editor on random games, people could build their own scenarios and even create maps for future campaigns. I think this is a cool future that would be nice to have just don't add on multiplayer games

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:17 pm

Dgkfadomo777 wrote:It would be cool if we cold use map editor on random games, people could build their own scenarios and even create maps for future campaigns. I think this is a cool future that would be nice to have just don't add on multiplayer games
I think Daniel has a complete in-app map editor in mind for eventual implementation (terrain layer too). :D
Thanks!
Josh

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 6710
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Stratego (dev) » Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:55 am

@doomcarrot: email me your ingame username so i can activate
Cool : yes!

Alanm_25
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Alanm_25 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:34 pm

Hi! I don't understand it at all...
All the players with the DEV version can use the mapeditor?
When I can find it?
My player name is: Marga

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 3950
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by COOLguy » Tue Jun 30, 2015 5:49 pm

No, Daniel must first activate it to your multiplayer account.
Alanm_25 wrote:My player name is: Marga
Ok, message Daniel and he can activate your account to access the editor.
Thanks!
Josh

Alanm_25
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Alanm_25 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 3:48 am

COOLguy wrote:No, Daniel must first activate it to your multiplayer account.
Alanm_25 wrote:My player name is: Marga
Ok, message Daniel and he can activate your account to access the editor.
Hi! Just like Daniel says, I already have it activated... how I can acces to the map design? When I found that "editor mode"?
THanks in advantage

Dgkfadomo777
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:00 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Dgkfadomo777 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 7:03 pm

You have to press the option load account. Its strange but that makes it work

Alanm_25
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Map design - Units in the on-device mapeditor

Post by Alanm_25 » Sun Jul 05, 2015 3:44 am

Dgkfadomo777 wrote:You have to press the option load account. Its strange but that makes it work
Thank you!
Now I can acces
=)

User avatar
Hardeep
Posts: 1121
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Location: Isengard, middle earth

Re: Map design - Modifying built in maps with ondevice maped

Post by Hardeep » Fri Nov 06, 2015 1:04 am

Hello, does modifying maps also give the power to change the terrain and map setup (ex. Visibility)? Cause i noticed that a map modification I sent to Daniel only carried over changes made to the unit layer and trigger edits, and not terrain or visibility. Was this a mistake or can you just not do it?
THE WHITE HAND WILL NOT BE STOPPED!
ISENGARD WILL PREVAIL!
Durbgu nazgshu, Durbgu dashshu!
Durbgu nazgshu, Durbgu dashshu!

Image

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 6710
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Map design - Modifying built in maps with ondevice maped

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Nov 06, 2015 8:46 am

terrain should have changed, but in old maps the visibility and stuff is changed in the launchercode, so you need to tell me which maps to change visibilty.

User avatar
Hardeep
Posts: 1121
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Location: Isengard, middle earth

Re: Map design - Modifying built in maps with ondevice maped

Post by Hardeep » Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:29 pm

Daniel (the dev) wrote:terrain should have changed, but in old maps the visibility and stuff is changed in the launchercode, so you need to tell me which maps to change visibilty.
In the moria map a well didn't appear and the visibilty should be all black (not just fog of war), but i need to change one thing anyway so if you could change when i send the update
THE WHITE HAND WILL NOT BE STOPPED!
ISENGARD WILL PREVAIL!
Durbgu nazgshu, Durbgu dashshu!
Durbgu nazgshu, Durbgu dashshu!

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Map Design”