Page 1 of 5

dismounted knights ACCEPTED

Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:13 pm
by balint
Can be trained in castle
same stats as knight but health -10 and power -3 movement: 3
It would be an infantry wich could be trained in the castle (currentlly there are only a few castle units)

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:29 pm
by COOLguy
Yes, more castle units are needed.

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:29 am
by DoomCarrot
I very much like. Basically a cheap, durable heavy infantry unit.

And besides, knights were very often not on horseback, ESPECIALLY in castle defences.

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:18 am
by TheBluePhoenix
Well whats the turn cost?

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:08 pm
by Hardeep
I think it should cost 4, to prevent castles from becoming super op
I love this Idea, :D

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:03 am
by TheBluePhoenix
Then i better train a knight . Why should i train a weaker unit for the same turn cost?
Also , castle is for special units and i tsee no special ability or so for it

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:42 pm
by DoomCarrot
Because even if it isn't as good as training a knight in a stable, it would give castles the ability to train a decent, melee unit.

For instance, if you really were desperate for melee units, and you had a castle or two, they could help produce some, although not as effective as a stable/barracks/tc

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:52 pm
by TheBluePhoenix
Well you cant just add crap to the castle just for the sake of it. There has to be a clear cut difference between castle units and ithers which has been maintained till date. No castle unit is useless or costly compared to its use and by far this unit seems a useless one for the castle given the present turn cost of 4. Maybe a turn cost of 3 should suffice(2 would be too less)

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:53 pm
by DoomCarrot
That might make castles super OP, but I don't think it would uberly upset the balance of the game as a whole, so long as everyone can build them

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:37 pm
by COOLguy
I think that cost 3 is reasonable without making it OP. Its stats are almost exactly between a 4 cost knight 2 cost swordman. And TheBluePhoenix is right - I would just train a trebuchet, cannoneer, or ashigaru. :)

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:17 am
by TheBluePhoenix
Yup right. And the castle is a bit op intentionaly. Given the capacity of its units , all its units are slightly underpriced. And thats necessary to differentiate clearly between the castle and a tc
And yes , turn cost 3 should clearly Suffice.

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:34 pm
by COOLguy
Actually, a 2x3 block of fortresses is stronger, more powerful, and has a bigger capacity than a castle. :)

Let me find a quote from Daniel about the castle.

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:36 pm
by COOLguy
ta-daaaaaa! :)
Daniel (the dev) wrote:
in my mind there 3 types of units
- normal (upgrade or default)
- special (eg. national unit - like hussars)
- special made in castle (reason: to be harder to get, so can be cheaper in cost)

so i try not mixing them too much

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:41 pm
by DoomCarrot
COOLguy wrote:Actually, a 2x3 block of fortresses is stronger, more powerful, and has a bigger capacity than a castle. :)

Let me find a quote from Daniel about the castle.
BUT they cannot produce trebuchets, which can easily destroy a 2x3 block of fortresses :)

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 6:34 pm
by TheBluePhoenix
I agree with doom on this :mrgreen: :lol: :D

Re: dismounted knights

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:54 pm
by COOLguy
good point. :)

Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:40 am
by Alpha
A Dismounted Knight.

Will have the same stats a regular Knight but less movement.

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:19 am
by MightyGuy
i think this unit not riding at the back of a horse. A Royal Knight i think ;)

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:29 am
by DoomCarrot
hmmm could be useful, but what would be its bonuses?

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:41 am
by superstrijder15
I think you need different bonusses, as well as slightly reduced attack. This would be useful in story and historical maps, for example some of the battles in the Hundred years war, where the english defended using dismounted knights. (I don't know what battle it was, but it comes up in a Dutch book series by Thea Beckman)

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:55 pm
by Alexander82
It is basically a man at arms xD

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:37 am
by Alpha
Not really, the upgrades will effect it so that means higher Armor, The infantry upgrades will effect it aswell. Also the spearman won't have a bonus on it and will have the basic bonuses as a Swordsman.

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:45 am
by MightyGuy
indeed! :) :D :P

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:02 pm
by Alpha
Forgot to mention thtat the Heavy Mounted Knight upgrades will effect it aswell

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:26 pm
by Alexander82
WORKER1212 wrote:Forgot to mention thtat the Heavy Mounted Knight upgrades will effect it aswell
This is finally possible thanks to the last modification made by Daniel to the engine


I merged that post with an old balint's post

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:03 pm
by Alpha
Nioce, but can this be possible?

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:47 pm
by Alexander82
Yes

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:23 am
by Alpha
So, we need a image. Mighty, Alexander?

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:35 am
by Alexander82
To be honest... the knight is basically a man at arms on horse. I might make that unit on foot but it would be a man at arms xD

Re: Dismounted Knight

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:23 am
by Alpha
I mean I want it to look like a Knight that is not on a horse :lol: Not that it looks like a Man at arms.