Making a continued map

Suggestions about the gameplay, the controls, buttons and so on.
Post Reply
User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Making a continued map

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:55 am

i have a bit of an idea, it might seem difficult to implement but ts uses are wide

I was thinking of implementing some sort of way, which allows the developments in another map , be taken forward to a new map. It would be very useful in campaigns. It would also bring new meaning to the game as i many a time feel that some of the good maps in the game can be won just by barging into the enemy, without any planning and strategy, resulting in huge amount of unit losses but who cares! The next map will start as it is going to anyways you play the game. This ruins the strategy. If this idea is implemented , then the player would be compelled to use strategy to his benefit for future maps as he knows that how this game ends affects the next map's beginning. Tell me what you think

Do you have a way in your mind? I think it is similar to copy pasting an area of units from one map to another. Maybe triggering might be possible- copying , pasting units
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
Hardeep
Posts: 1121
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Location: Isengard, middle earth

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by Hardeep » Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:52 pm

I dont know if the game engine is capable of that, but what stops the player from bringing the enemy down to 1 tower and then spamming hussas and lancers? And where would the carryon units be placed in the new map?
THE WHITE HAND WILL NOT BE STOPPED!
ISENGARD WILL PREVAIL!
Durbgu nazgshu, Durbgu dashshu!
Durbgu nazgshu, Durbgu dashshu!

Image

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:03 pm

You didnot get the point.suppose you are given 50 units for a map. If you know that however well you play , the next map's begining will be what it was.so u play carelessly, killing 40 units in vain while you could have saved many. But if you are informed that in some way the units left in this map will be utilised in the next map for extra benefits, you try to play carefully

Coming to its implementation, there could be some way which copies all units of the player in the particular area before displaying the victory message and pasted to another map at a predefined location by the maker.
It will make a great addition to the game if possibly implemented
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by COOLguy » Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:46 pm

This would be for campaigns only and only on maps set for it.
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:40 pm

Yeah right
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:34 am

Dev is it possible to implement?we can think a way out
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:33 pm

Everything is possible. Question of time need :)

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:20 am

good . So keep this in mind and implement it when you have time

Thanks!
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:16 pm

Dev how are you going to implement this? Do u have ay way in your mind in particular?
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:17 pm

not yet. sorry :)

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sat Jan 23, 2016 4:32 pm

Daniel (the dev) wrote:Everything is possible. Question of time need :)
Daniel (the dev) wrote:not yet. sorry :)
QUITE SARCASTIC EH! :lol:
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sat Jan 23, 2016 5:41 pm

No!

But here is one:
When you finish a preceding map the remaining ynits u have are saved. On next map they are added to an entry point "object" of the map.

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sat Jan 23, 2016 6:23 pm

So it is possible to implement this via triggers?
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:20 pm

triggers: good idea. and yes.

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sun Jan 24, 2016 4:05 am

Then how about two triggers- copy trigger which copies all units with their stats in a given rectangular area before the victory message is displayed(that should be its condition)
Another trigger could be the paste trigger which pastes the units from the map no. Nr1 of a campaign in a rectangular area
How does this sound?
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: MAKING A CONTINUED MAP

Post by Stratego (dev) » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:16 am

the problem can be done partially already: if you dont want to plyer waste units to the end than you can set triggers to warn and make player get lost if too many units get lost.

the transferring is not yet available, i thought of a "unit pool" that can be saved to a completed map - and if the next map launchesthat would ring those extra units into play.

Q1: what about map opening option? now you can play a map that is at the end of a campaign without finishing the prior maps
Q2: what to do with units that have no space to place on next map?

User avatar
godOfKings
Posts: 2072
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:50 pm

Re: Making a continued map

Post by godOfKings » Fri Apr 19, 2019 3:06 pm

1. We can make it that connected maps cannot b unlocked by gem spell key. Pretty sure there is a limit to how many connected maps a player can play with original army on first map.

2. It will unfortunately depend on the talent of the map designer. But before that, how to place units of previous map to current map?
There is no place for false kings here, only those who proves themselves to b the true kings of legend, or serves under me

For I watch over this world looking for those worthy to become kings, and on the way get rid of the fakes and rule over the fools

User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Making a continued map

Post by makazuwr32 » Fri Apr 19, 2019 3:35 pm

Something like this i am planning right now but on 1 map only. So you will have different parts, quests and such inside one big and continious map.
makazuwr32 wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 am
Please when you ask to change something argument why do you want that change. ...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on. Some real info why it must be done.
© by Makazuwr32™.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Making a continued map

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:55 pm

actually i thought of a more dynamic option.

1. you design a starter map
1 a you define some more maps that can be the continued maps (these are not listed anywhere, can not be launched directly)
2. by triggers or something you can set the "transfer pack" it can be anything (units from an area, or anything else some additional this and that)
3. also by triggers you can define what next map to load (so you can choose a map name - can differ on first map outcome)
4. you can launch the selected map right from the running (or just ending) map - with the selected units or anything, and place it anywhere on new map (yaou can set the target location)

this is random thinking but maybe you see the point

User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Making a continued map

Post by makazuwr32 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:38 am

Aimilar to wc3, yes.
makazuwr32 wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 am
Please when you ask to change something argument why do you want that change. ...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on. Some real info why it must be done.
© by Makazuwr32™.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9158
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Making a continued map

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:32 am

makazuwr32 wrote:
Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:38 am
Aimilar to wc3, yes.
tell me more about that - maybe that is a good logic to loot from :)

User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 4186
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Making a continued map

Post by makazuwr32 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 9:33 am

First thing first:
In Warcraft 3 there are levelable heroes.

Now to mechanic:
you have normally a sigle map and few transfer zones (as it is made in wc3), when hero crosses that zone you are moved to extra map.
You do the things, return to transfer zone and all you hero group is moved back to main map.

Another variant that i saw in warcraft 3 is that depending on actions of player you will gain access to either 1 or another map after this one.

And in general you described it almost perfectly here:
Stratego (dev) wrote:
Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:55 pm
actually i thought of a more dynamic option.

1. you design a starter map
1 a you define some more maps that can be the continued maps (these are not listed anywhere, can not be launched directly)
2. by triggers or something you can set the "transfer pack" it can be anything (units from an area, or anything else some additional this and that)
3. also by triggers you can define what next map to load (so you can choose a map name - can differ on first map outcome)
4. you can launch the selected map right from the running (or just ending) map - with the selected units or anything, and place it anywhere on new map (yaou can set the target location)

this is random thinking but maybe you see the point
makazuwr32 wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 am
Please when you ask to change something argument why do you want that change. ...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on. Some real info why it must be done.
© by Makazuwr32™.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay & UI”