Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1) k) IMPLEMENTED

Suggestions about the gameplay, the controls, buttons and so on.
Post Reply
duneix
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:12 am

Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1) k) IMPLEMENTED

Post by duneix » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:24 am

This proposition comes from the List of major improvement propositions (LMIP) edited in 2017 :D
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3620

I know this topic has already been discussed within different posts but I don't know if there was a dedidated post for that.

Definition
It should be possible to decide how units are positioned in tcs and who is going to defend first.

Definition 2
By the same token, it could be possible to position units in transportations and decide who is going to survive if the transportation is destroyed (optional / not being able to decide it is quite logical and add some randomness to the game)

Reason
I think it would add lot of strategical values to add this (at least first) feature, as it means we must guess which kind of units are going to attack, who will be attacking first, and so on = anticipating the behaviour of the opponent (which is the key of the strategy)
By the way it's much more logical (why a worker would defend before a shielder in a tc?).

User avatar
Detros
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1

Post by Detros » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:40 am

As noted in Units stored in carriers the connected "when carrier dies, only the unit in the first slot survives" is deemed a feature which should stay in. The problem with order of units in carriers is its semirandomness. To be able to manage who is stored in the first position, special ability to reorder units in the garrison slots is not needed, saved order determined by "who went in first" could be enough.

duneix
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:12 am

Re: Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1

Post by duneix » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:18 pm

Detros wrote:saved order determined by "who went in first" could be enough.
well in my opinion, that's not enough. I mean the game is working like that, no problem but that's would be a loss of strategical options.

User avatar
Detros
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1

Post by Detros » Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:14 pm

duneix wrote:
Detros wrote:saved order determined by "who went in first" could be enough.
well in my opinion, that's not enough. I mean the game is working like that, no problem but that's would be a loss of strategical options.
The current order works like that, yes. Try putting 1 unit in wagon then move and put 2 more. You should get the same order each time. Now save and load. You get different order each time,

duneix
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:12 am

Re: Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1

Post by duneix » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:37 am

Well if there is no randomness, than I would prefer to leave the choice to the player how to organise his transportation without tinkering ;)
But actually modifying the position in transportation is not the most important.

What about the definition 1 (modifying the order in towns) ?

Detros wrote:
duneix wrote:
Detros wrote:saved order determined by "who went in first" could be enough.
well in my opinion, that's not enough. I mean the game is working like that, no problem but that's would be a loss of strategical options.
The current order works like that, yes. Try putting 1 unit in wagon then move and put 2 more. You should get the same order each time. Now save and load. You get different order each time,

User avatar
Detros
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1

Post by Detros » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:13 am

duneix wrote:What about the definition 1 (modifying the order in towns) ?
I think all garrisons should work the same way, even though there is already the difference between TC not guarding the units while in other cases the carrier protects the stored units.

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Change mode of random arrange unit in town center

Post by limyuee » Fri Jan 27, 2017 6:01 am

I think this random mode is cannot defence the enemy attack because the town center random to arrange you unit in town center so i think we can change random mode to control mode
hi i newbie

User avatar
Detros
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:01 pm

Re: Change mode of random arrange unit in town center

Post by Detros » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:11 am

Could be at least an option.
Instead of "New upgrades" this should rather be under "Gameplay & UI" suggestions. Unless you mean you want this changed by some researchable technology.

Actually, this is duplicate suggestion to Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1) k). Please try to search / check the last threads in the given section of forum before creating new thread.

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi I really like this game cause it is a strategy game, but why rule of order of units in TC is random ,when u try to put knight in first position but unfortunately the order unit in TC is RANDOM! THIS IS A STRATEGY GAME, NO LUCKY GAME ,please VOTE FOR CHANGE, THANKS
hi i newbie

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 1:17 pm

hi i newbie

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 2:40 pm

When I MOVE knight into the TC(INSIDE TC HAVE 2 DIFFERENT UNIT) ,SOME TIME will be position 1,some time position 2,some time position 3 ,t this call strategy ? :?: ,time to change name, call age of lucky
hi i newbie

User avatar
Ayush Tiwari
Posts: 1184
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:30 am
Location: Gorakhpur,a rural city in North India

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by Ayush Tiwari » Mon May 28, 2018 3:30 pm

I don't know if its random,or is it in any sequence,but I see,we do need to change it,maybe,like this:
1.Suppose,I have a knight and swordsman in a TC,then,if my TC is attacked,they both will counter.
2.And if an enemy unit is attacked by the knight,the swordsman too will attack,and vice-versa.

Strategically,it will make easier defending a TC
love to walk in Fog, Because nobody knows i am Smoking

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 4:20 pm

As u said, I cannot adjust my position let system random adjust and this call strategy game?do u know what meaning of strategy?have to use tactic,have to think what type of unit have to place what position in TC, to against different type of unit attack, if random I cannot simply move worker into TC, U KNOW WHY? CAUSE SYSTEM RANDOM placed my worker position,it like destined, cannot change my self, please tell me how strategy working, please tell me reason for this game call strategy ,and also thanks for u Answer (refer to this) viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3642
hi i newbie

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 4:23 pm

U can try to ask developer how the unit position arrange in TC , I already ask and the answer is random
hi i newbie

Dan301002
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Location: ?????

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by Dan301002 » Mon May 28, 2018 5:01 pm

Why not you can swap around the units inside? Like the top left will get hit first, if it die the units behind it (the second one) will get moved automatically to that place, same with third and fourth. Until it's finally empty, coding-wise it should be possible.
Currently exploring the wonder of dimension.

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 5:22 pm

How to swap already try but cannot :( when I MOVE unit into TC ,the unit position random arrange in TC.You can try ask developer this question via gmail, I get the reply is random
hi i newbie

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by Stratego (dev) » Mon May 28, 2018 5:34 pm

limyuee wrote:Hi I really like this game cause it is a strategy game, but why rule of order of units in TC is random ,when u try to put knight in first position but unfortunately the order unit in TC is RANDOM! THIS IS A STRATEGY GAME, NO LUCKY GAME ,please VOTE FOR CHANGE, THANKS
hi limyuee: was that you modifying your google review from 5 star down to 1 star because of this problem?!

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 5:47 pm

Yes I play this game since 2015 years, really like this game, but this issue let me give up this game, I find many strategy game, and this is the best want, but this "bug" let this game more like lucky game...... Please forgive about my frankness
hi i newbie

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by Stratego (dev) » Mon May 28, 2018 6:07 pm

it is not nice...
i tend to make changes not by being forced, simply by being asked... i have very limited time 3 kids, job, house and so on... and these many apps -
but i always do things that was asked nicely and not too much in coding time ...

limyuee
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 12:37 pm
Location: malaysia

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by limyuee » Mon May 28, 2018 6:34 pm

So sorry
hi i newbie

User avatar
godOfKings
Posts: 1866
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:50 pm

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by godOfKings » Tue May 29, 2018 7:24 am

is it possible to make it that structures and wagons that garrison more than 1 unit doesnt change unit position after ending turn? i mean y should it even change position of garrisoned units after each turn?

and can u make it that the drag and garrison feature that is used to put a unit in tc into the wagon in the same tc can also b used to swap the position of 2 units in the tc?
There is no place for false kings here, only those who proves themselves to b the true kings of legend, or serves under me

For I watch over this world looking for those worthy to become kings, and on the way get rid of the fakes and rule over the fools

Dan301002
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Location: ?????

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by Dan301002 » Tue May 29, 2018 10:27 am

godOfKings wrote:is it possible to make it that structures and wagons that garrison more than 1 unit doesnt change unit position after ending turn? i mean y should it even change position of garrisoned units after each turn?

and can u make it that the drag and garrison feature that is used to put a unit in tc into the wagon in the same tc can also b used to swap the position of 2 units in the tc?
Up.
Currently exploring the wonder of dimension.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Rule of order of units in TC is random, vote for change

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue May 29, 2018 1:10 pm

godOfKings wrote:is it possible to make it that structures and wagons that garrison more than 1 unit doesnt change unit position after ending turn? i mean y should it even change position of garrisoned units after each turn?

and can u make it that the drag and garrison feature that is used to put a unit in tc into the wagon in the same tc can also b used to swap the position of 2 units in the tc?
Yes, possible. Bit of coding tough.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Votes on the "Units position in tcs&wagons" - LMIP II) 1) k) IMPLEMENTED

Post by Stratego (dev) » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:04 pm

it is implemented yesterday

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay & UI”