Autocast (instinct action) Problems ANSWERED

Post Reply
User avatar
GregDB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:12 pm
Location: Far East

Autocast (instinct action) Problems ANSWERED

Post by GregDB » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:55 pm

Units like Lich automatically cast raise dead on bodies when turn end and i cannt save up bodies for summoning bone dragon.

Some units automatically attack enemies, when turn ends near enemies and they can attack. So in one campaign (Shadow rise) assassin suicide to homes, that make mission (third one) impassable.

Dear developers, can you make function in settings, that will let to off this "autocast" system?

Also, i dont know is it bug, or no, but melee units with attack range 2, like phantom with spike, dont make counter hit to enemies being attacked with another 2 range melee units (like another phantom with spike, or human with halberd and +1 range technology).
Beware mortals! I am the Overlord of Burgundy well known as White Necromancer. My armies will crush anyone who opposes my order.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9163
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Autocast Problems

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:31 pm

Units like Lich automatically cast raise dead on bodies when turn end and i cannt save up bodies for summoning bone dragon.

Some units automatically attack enemies, when turn ends near enemies and they can attack. So in one campaign (Shadow rise) assassin suicide to homes, that make mission (third one) impassable.

Dear developers, can you make function in settings, that will let to off this "autocast" system?

this is feature you can turn off the feature on lich using the "stand ground" button, that will remove its action
is it ok?

User avatar
DoomsdayDragonfire
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:20 am
Location: Terra - Brasil

Re: Autocast Problems

Post by DoomsdayDragonfire » Sun Aug 11, 2019 9:30 pm

I think he just want a button on settings to disable/enable auto-action of the units to avoid pressing that button on every single unit/turn.
Stay Awesome!
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9163
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Autocast Problems

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sun Aug 11, 2019 9:44 pm

yes, but i was not sure the mentioned thing was considered

User avatar
DoomsdayDragonfire
Posts: 742
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:20 am
Location: Terra - Brasil

Re: Autocast Problems

Post by DoomsdayDragonfire » Sun Aug 11, 2019 9:49 pm

Well, i think we never stoped to think about that anyway... So i guess it can be pretty handly sometimes.
Stay Awesome!
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻

User avatar
GregDB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:12 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Autocast Problems

Post by GregDB » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:34 pm

Stratego (dev) wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:31 pm
Units like Lich automatically cast raise dead on bodies when turn end and i cannt save up bodies for summoning bone dragon.

Some units automatically attack enemies, when turn ends near enemies and they can attack. So in one campaign (Shadow rise) assassin suicide to homes, that make mission (third one) impassable.

Dear developers, can you make function in settings, that will let to off this "autocast" system?

this is feature you can turn off the feature on lich using the "stand ground" button, that will remove its action
is it ok?

Oh, big thanks, i didnt know that command "hold position" can help.
Beware mortals! I am the Overlord of Burgundy well known as White Necromancer. My armies will crush anyone who opposes my order.

User avatar
GregDB
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:12 pm
Location: Far East

Re: Autocast Problems

Post by GregDB » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:36 pm

So, it's perfect, no need to make any additional settings, we can just use "hold position" on single units
Beware mortals! I am the Overlord of Burgundy well known as White Necromancer. My armies will crush anyone who opposes my order.

User avatar
Puss_in_Boots
Posts: 2509
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:23 am

Re: Autocast Problems ANSWERED

Post by Puss_in_Boots » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:00 am

I still think it can get annoying. What happens if novice players are turned away from unstrategic autocasts? Besides lichs move slow, within raise corpse range, it'd take 4-5 turns to get between three corpses, which means you'd have to press that button that many times to get a bone dragon.
RED, WHITE and BLUE!

User avatar
makazuwr32
Posts: 4195
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:29 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Autocast Problems ANSWERED

Post by makazuwr32 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:29 am

Or use a wagon.
makazuwr32 wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 am
Please when you ask to change something argument why do you want that change. ...
Put some numbers, compare to what other races have and so on. Some real info why it must be done.
© by Makazuwr32™.

User avatar
Puss_in_Boots
Posts: 2509
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:23 am

Re: Autocast Problems ANSWERED

Post by Puss_in_Boots » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:53 pm

makazuwr32 wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:29 am
Or use a wagon.
Yes, but not every newcomer will learn this brilliant advice before turning away from the game at worst because they autocast at the worst possible time.
RED, WHITE and BLUE!

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9163
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Autocast Problems ANSWERED

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:33 pm

actually i think we should put in that no ever can autocast a spell that uses any skeletons or units as sacrifices.
only spells that has no such costs.

what do u think?

User avatar
Puss_in_Boots
Posts: 2509
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:23 am

Re: Autocast (instinct action) Problems ANSWERED

Post by Puss_in_Boots » Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:50 pm

That's a great idea, I'm all for it.
RED, WHITE and BLUE!

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9163
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Autocast (instinct action) Problems ANSWERED

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:02 pm

i am on it.
...
i see that no any spec costed spell is exacuted already in instinct action: eg. skeleton and orc dragon summoning that costs units and so on - please confirm.
the only exception is animate dead as those corpses are not literally "costs", so now i make that animate will not be casted either.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9163
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Autocast (instinct action) Problems ANSWERED

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:06 pm

ok, reanimate is in exception list, so will nto be auto casted anymore, will be in in next update.

Post Reply

Return to “Units/techs/effects”