Hussars to castle - ANSWERED

Moderator: Endru1241

Post Reply
User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6750
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Hussars to castle - ANSWERED

Post by Alexander82 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 3:27 pm

I was thinking that we might allow hussars to be built at castles too (they would remain to both tcs and stable). Being at the castle would make them useful also in late games, where you already have most of the upgrades for the basic units. They would also be an additional option if you have castles and need more cavalry, or just don't need cannons/ashigarus/trebuchets cause a certain castle is too far from the battlefield.

What you think?
Age of Fantasy design leader

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sun Sep 27, 2015 5:44 pm

Maybe but that wont increase their usefulness. They still will be pretty useless in the game
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by COOLguy » Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:23 pm

TheBluePhoenix wrote:Maybe but that wont increase their usefulness. They still will be pretty useless in the game
That is your opinion. ;)
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Sun Sep 27, 2015 6:44 pm

yes
And you will also agree that whenever somebody criticizes the hussars you always arrive to counter that view. Let me ask you one thing straight :What on earth do you like about them so damn much??????????????? :?: :?: :cry:
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by COOLguy » Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:57 pm

Hey. Inside voice please. :( you don't have to be mean about it. :)
TheBluePhoenix wrote:And you will also agree that whenever somebody criticizes the hussars you always arrive to counter that view
Yes, of course I do. Many people seem to detract from the hussars for not being heavy knights, centurions, elephants, and battering rams. ;)

I do not use assassins or swordman upgrades because I don't often find myself in a position that requires them; and they don't suite my playing style. But you don't find me bashing them because they are not useful to me (i.e. being what they were intended when they were made).

The reason on earth that I like about them so darn much is the reason that they were made: because they are an extremely fast unit with a high attack and moderate hp and armor, along with being inconvertible. You can use them in most instances completely solitary and also just as well as a part of a large army. Their only "banes" are lancers and ornithopters, and they can outrun lancers. Large groups of archers can undoubtedly take them down as well but it must be a large group as the hussars can run them down.

To be sure, they are a little costly to produce (their only real downside) and I will admit that I find them more useful against AI than against humans; but that does not mean that they are useless. :)
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6750
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Alexander82 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 8:05 pm

coming back to the original topic. What do you think about that idea coolguy?
Age of Fantasy design leader

User avatar
ejm29
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by ejm29 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 8:45 pm

I think that adding hussars to the castle is a great idea. Both the unit and castle would benefit from the change. Its about time the castle got some cavalry! :P

(Ps, I like Hussars ;) )

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by COOLguy » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:18 pm

I second that. I think it could be fun.
Thanks!
Josh

lordtalamar
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 7:22 am
Location: New Mexico, USA

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by lordtalamar » Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:01 pm

Nothing like a hussar to capture close tcs without being seen.

User avatar
TheBluePhoenix
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 5:09 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by TheBluePhoenix » Mon Sep 28, 2015 3:45 am

Ok i get the point. Hussars are good. Okay well maybe . Though i dont use them very much
BEWARE!!!!The long lost empire of phoenicia is rising- The world is but just near the golden age,wherein men played and frolicked,without any worries at all


Darkknight
Posts: 393
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 5:01 pm
Location: The Great Castle of DarkKingdom

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Darkknight » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:07 am

Will it add both hussars or only one of them?

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6750
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Alexander82 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:57 am

I was thinking both at the start. what you suggest?
Age of Fantasy design leader

Alex486
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 11:56 am
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Alex486 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 1:29 pm

I don't use the Hussars, but I like the Idea.
Anything is feasible with enough money and power.

Get ready to get your teeth kicked in, it will make for a good education.

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6750
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Alexander82 » Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:58 am

Daniel, what do you think about this idea?
Age of Fantasy design leader

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9671
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Stratego (dev) » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:37 am

i did not think to put them into castle.

in my mind there 3 types of units
- normal (upgrade or default)
- special (eg. national unit - like hussars)
- special made in castle (reason: to be harder to get, so can be cheaper in cost)

so i try not mixing them too much

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6750
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Hussars to castle

Post by Alexander82 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:12 pm

Ok, i thought it might be ok, like the cannoner that can be built in both castle and siege workshop. I think it wouldn't harm anyway, because you can still build hussars in your tcs (if you like).
Age of Fantasy design leader

Post Reply

Return to “Closed ones”